Life On An Island

My adventure has returned to the idyllic place that I first enjoyed last summer/fall when my life landed on this island.  That changed everything. Change is good.

The boat is a constant work in progress. Today I will spend a good part of my time with my head stuck in the engine compartment. When I come up for air I will relax by reading the engine manual. I will also clean out the other cabin locker. Friday I am back in Perth to take William to the dump before I meet Sylvia at Hwy. #7 Storage for 1300. We will take the bed to her house I will have my Spanish lesson. Then head back to Big Island if I am rested. So I will need a nap after Spanish in order to drive safely.

I will have to reduce my Spanish schedule. Everyone is taking a hit here. That is just as well. The price is worth it. It check’s all the boxes. Of course it does help being retired. That does alleviate time issues.

I had a good interaction with Hans. Hans’ friends need to have the ability to be patient. A shaming, blaming type of dysfunctional personality would have a riot with my buddy. Anyway, Hans became impatient with something I was doing. He raised his voice. I did push back with a boundary. I told him that I would not listen to his emotional loudness. Still we got through the day as friends. Then on the second day I called him. Yesterday I gave him a new switch lamp. He was pleased. It made him happy. Hans has been a good opportunity for me to focus on my emotions, not his, or anybody else’s for that matter. The days that Hans doesn’t come to the marina, I get a lot done. That last statement is more a comment about my behaviour, not his. His heart is in the right place and he means well. He will be 69 this year. He worked until he was 66. I like that he and Toni will be in Nova Scotia this summer. Just a thought; I could drive to NS and camp at Keji or where ever.

It is slightly overcast but warm. Today it will be mid twenties with winds of 30 kph gusting to 40 kph.

I am going to change Lyra’s name to something Spanish.

 

Leave a Reply

