I Dream

We all dream. We dream while we sleep. We dream when awake. The awake dream is what I have been paying attention to lately. The dream I pay a lot of attention to these days is the running dream.

My running dream is very simple. I dream about the run I am presently engaged in. If the run is over then I dream about the next run. That’s it. I don’t pay attention to the last run or the best run. They are finished and gone.

Todays run was a distance of 11 kms. I ran for 80 minutes. I started at Gore and South Streets and ran to just south of Echo Bay Rd. and back. Speed 7.27 minutes per km.

The scenery is beautiful. The added bonus is that there are hills. Five of them. Four of them are of a good length and grade, the fifth is a little more forgiving. I notice the strength that has developed in my legs. All of the small left leg/left knee issues that I initially had when I started running have passed. The occasional slight pain just above the left knee has not been felt for sometime now.

My companions are the sound of my footsteps and my breathing. The solitude and the scenery are very enjoyable. There is a mental clarity that occurs that is comparable to meditating. The busy thoughts, the monkey mind, all the thoughts that don’t matter are left behind. The running is a form of meditation for me. My thoughts are also about the people in my life. The relationships. Family, friends, the ladies. All those people that add so much to my happy thoughts.

When I got back from my run I went to The Table and had the supper at the Community dinner. There I sat with Janina and Suzanne. I also got to briefly speak with Louise. she introduced me to Lois, a friend of Pauline. We also got to see Tosh as he left.

 

2 thoughts on “I Dream

Leave a Reply

